School Commission

The School Commission is a faith-based advisory body to the Pastor of Sacred Heart Parish and to the Principal of Sacred Heart School.  The Commission’s responsibilities include establishing the Mission, Vision, and Goals for the school.  The Commission also creates and implements the Strategic Plan to ensure proper planning for the future advancement and excellence of the school.

The Commission develops and evaluates school policies, means to finance the school (tuition structures, financial development and fund raising), and structures for marketing and communication for the school.

The School Commission is composed of seven or more members appointed by the Pastor and Principal, as well as the Parents’ Club President and President-Elect. Members are parents of Sacred Heart School students or members of Sacred Heart Parish.

2023-2024 School Commission Members

  • Rev. Kurt Nagel, Pastor
  • David Burroughs, Principal
  • Charlie Herb, Chair
  • Merrill Behnke, Vice Chair
  • Kelly Bach, Health & Safety
  • Orville McDonald, Technology
  • Katherine Goodrich, Legal
  • Kelly Surapaneni, Catholic Identity
  • Lisa Mallory, Parents’ Club President
  • Nadia Stumbo, Parents' Club President-Elect


The School Commission meets on the First Wednesday of each month at 6:30 pm.  Meetings are open to members of the school community unless otherwise indicated.  Members of the school community who wish to have an item added to the agenda should contact the School Principal or School Commission Chair.

Please contact our School Commission Chair with any questions.

2023-2024 Meeting Dates

September 13, 2023

October 4, 2023

November 8, 2023

December 6, 2023

January 3, 2024

February 7, 2024

March 13, 2024

April 10, 2024

May 1, 2024

June 5, 2024